"Staff disappeared for lunch whilst I was waiting"

About: Arbroath Infirmary / Accident & Emergency

(as the patient),

I went to Arbroath minor Injuires unit today.

I had an accident in the centre of Arbroath...

When I got here the staff was very nice and helpful, but that changed..

The women on reception said it be around twos to wait, so that was ok.

I did see the waiting room full of people so I just sit down on a chair...

and waited to be scene..

It was about hour and half and still nothing..so went on just sitting here...

Then saw a lot of the nurse had disappear...I heard someone says they are all gone for there lunch... I just could not believe this...

They just leave me waiting in the waiting room and never said anything I was really confused in what to do so I just leave the unit with out any treatment...

It's really strange.. Someone should be on to cover or give staff different times so they can have lunch etc...

I will have to go to my local A-E unit to have some treatment done....

How can anyone forget to come and see you and treat you..and yeah they did see me waiting has will am not happy am in a lot of pain etc...

Just so upset and confused by this never going back there.. That's bad service..

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Tracey Passway, Clinical Governance and Risk Team Leader, Clinical Governance and Risk, NHS Tayside

NHS Tayside are very sorry to hear about the negative experiences you have had, and if you would like to meet with the Service Manager to discuss what you have raised please do contact our Complaints and Feedback Team: E-mail: complaints.tayside@nhs.net Freephone number: 0800 0275507

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story