"My A&E experience"

About: Tameside General Hospital

Anything else?

My last visit to T&G A&E was a very unpleasant experience. I went via ambulance as I had a fall down some steps in a hotel; I was carrying 2 drinks which I spilt over myself. I was seen by a junior member of staff and not physically examined or X-rayed, I was given some pain killing tablets and discharged – I was not happy and asked for a second opinion. I was see by a more experienced doctor and was examined and given an injection – I was still in severe pain and my husband had to help me walk back to the car. Days later I was still in extreme pain and saw may GP he sent me for an X-ray and found I had a broken rib!! This meant 2 visits to T&G when one would have sufficed, costing the taxpayer and the NHS time and money. I found the whole thing very upsetting and drawn out as both visits were lengthy, only just meeting the 4 hour wait in A&E.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from John Goodenough, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry that you have had an upsetting experience when attending for treatment at the hospital.

We are always looking for ways to further improve the patient experience. Can I ask that you contact the PALS department so we can examine the issues you have raised in more detail.

Kind regards,

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at

john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Tameside General Hospital

I am sorry that you have had an upsetting experience when attending for treatment at the hospital. We are always looking for ways to further improve the patient experience. Can I ask that you contact the PALS department so we can examine the issues you have raised in more detail. Kind regards, John Goodenough Director of Nursing ‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story