"Care brilliant - cleanliness not!"

Anything else?

A relative of mine was admitted to this hospital following a stroke/bleed on the brain. The level of care is excellent, staff extremely friendly and helpful, but conservatory where staff patients and visitors all use is always dirty; littered with cups and wrappers, spilt drinks on tables and chairs, dust and crumbs on floor and the windows covered in smudges and marks. Visitors toilets also often got tissue on floor and smell of a public toilet. After mentioning this to a receptionist twice, who didnt seem bothered, they did eventually come and put litter in the bin and wipe over the tables, however, it was let slip that the cleaner went home around 3pm. Surely there should be a cleaner on the premises either 24hr or for the majority of the day? No hospital no matter what size etc should ever be that dirty! Relative was staying on ward 8 for just over 4 weeks, and didnt complain of anything to start with however during the last week mentioned a few times about their toilets and showers seeming dirty. Also no hand sanitizer available until much further into the hospital... This should be something that is available from the moment you walk in! Again, cannot fault the brilliant care given by staff, and the communication between hospital and family was brilliant, but cleanliness needs to be improved!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Moseley Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking time to give this feedback and please be assured that action will be taken to address the issues you have raised. I am sorry you did not find the reception staff responsive to your requests and the manager of the team of receptionists will discuss this with them. I am pleased to read that you have found the clinical and care staff to be excellent and this will be shared with them.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story