"Maxcillofacial department"

About: William Harvey Hospital

Anything else?

After the Canterbury unit shutting down and moved to Ashford which causes me massive inconvenience as I have to get there by public transport. I have been a patient since primary school. I had a follow up on my fixed brace that has been fitted for 4 years now, I arrived for my appointment being told at my previous visit I was told it was being removed and that was the one of many times I had been told this. I went into the treatment area to be told that my brace was left loose last time as a final stage and to find out my teeth had moved by this action was so aggravating, another 3 months has been added to my treatment time due to this idiotic treatment. I have has braces my whole school career and I've had enough now, I'm tired of being messed around by the staff and when being treated not talked through what's happening I'm expected to sit in the treatment chair and go with the flow it isn't a very pleasant experience especially for younger ones. I'm now sitting at home in extreme pain due to a careless wire fitting that is now cutting into my cheeks resulting in me not being able to eat of talk due to the discomfort. I'm very distressed by my visits and would like others to be aware of this and also some action to be taken to avoid this happening to other patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience. I am really sorry that your experience has caused you a great deal of frustration and distress. Please do email me and I will follow this through for you. My email address is Julie.pearce1@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from William Harvey Hospital

Im sorry for the delay in responding to comments you have posted. If you would like to discuss how we can take forward the concerns that you have raised can you please contact the patient experience team. I have provided the contact details below. In the meantime I will forward your feedback to the division so it can be used to ensure services are improved. Patient Experience Team Telephone number - 01227 783145 Email - ekh-tr.patientexperienceteam@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story