"Poor quality of care."

About: Bassetlaw Hospital

Anything else?

I was in hospital over night with an inflamed appendix and during my stay in hospital I was put on a drip, I had two bags of Sodium Chloride through the time I was there but once my second bag was drained, I was waiting for around 5 and a half Hours before they removed the second bag after it had drained, baring in mind I was NBM during my stay. During the time the bag was empty I had a visit from the ward matron, nurses and doctor and had informed them that my drip was empty, but it was not until it was almost visiting time that they finally removed the drip from my hand. Then after being told I was no longer NBM I was left without food as the nurse failed to remove the NBM note on my bed so I was left without any food at tea time whilst all the other patients were given their dinner, instead my partner had to go down to the Hospital shop to get me a sandwich and some crisps just so that I had something to eat. Around half an hour before being discharged (around 6.30pm) I was offered cold chips that they had not plated up, to which I declined.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for outlining your concerns. We can't investigate them fully without specific details but you have said that communication and processes relating to your 'nil by mouth' status and fluid requirement were not satisfactory. Please accept our apologies for this.

Staff are able to obtain food at short notice from the kitchen at meal times and snacks are always available if required. All meals come to the ward areas plated up but it isn't appropriate for them to have gone cold - all patients should receive an appropriate choice of meals in a timely manner.

We have recently agreed improved menu collection and meal time processes on the surgical ward to improve patient choice, especially for those who may have just been admitted or recommenced eating after fasting. If you would like further information or would like to discuss anything regarding your care, including any comments or concerens you may have, then Rosie Mews, Matron for Surgery, would be happy to hear from you. You can contact her on 01302 366666 ext 4706.

Response from Bassetlaw Hospital

Thank you for outlining your concerns. We can't investigate them fully without specific details but you have said that communication and processes relating to your 'nil by mouth' status and fluid requirement were not satisfactory. Please accept our apologies for this. Staff are able to obtain food at short notice from the kitchen at meal times and snacks are always available if required. All meals come to the ward areas plated up but it isn't appropriate for them to have gone cold - all patients should receive an appropriate choice of meals in a timely manner. We have recently agreed improved menu collection and meal time processes on the surgical ward to improve patient choice, especially for those who may have just been admitted or recommenced eating after fasting. If you would like further information or would like to discuss anything regarding your care, including any comments or concerns you may have, then Rosie Mews, Matron for Surgery, would be happy to hear from you. You can contact her on 01302 366666 ext 4706.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story