"car park charges"

About: Lister Hospital

Anything else?

Stayed in the car park just over 2 hours ( 5 mins over) the charge went from £3.60 to £4.90. total rip off. Do the people who set these charges think we are made of money? I feel for anyone who has to go on a regular basis :(

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Thank you for getting in touch and whilst we're sorry that you found our parking arrangements not to your liking, we were intrigued to see that no comment was made about the clinical service you used during this visit to the Lister. We trust that this was satisfactory. As for the car parking - most people are totally unaware that it costs the Trust roughly £1 million annually to provide car parking for patients, their visitors and staff. We get no separate funding to cover this cost, so either we take it from existing budgets that ultimately support the care of patients or we make a charge. We - like many NHS organisations - have sought to charge for car parking, with the aim only of covering our costs. In the event that we receive more income than is needed to cover that cost, any surplus is used to support patient care at the Trust's hospitals. We try and set charges that give us a good chance of covering our costs within the year, whilst at the same time offering season tickets (weekly, monthly and three-monthly) that represent much better value for those who visit our hospitals regularly.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story