"I'm a 47 year old male type ..."

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

(as the patient),

What could be improved

I'm a 47 year old male type 1 Diabetic living alone, I've been a diabetic since 1981, and up till now I've been pretty well controlled. I've been struggling over the last year or so with my control. I regularly attended my 6 monthly appointment at the QEII diabetic clinic, but unfortunately recently keep getting my appointments cancelled by the hospital. I was due to go on the 16th August 2007, but had it cancelled by the hospital and rearranged for 27th September, then I received a letter cancelling that appointment and remaking it for the 25th October, then 2 days ago I received yet another letter cancelling that appointment saying they would rearrange and let me know. This isn't good enough, that's 3 cancelled appointments, meaning I now haven't been to my clinic for 9 months instead of 6. I will be making an official NHS complaint through the correct procedure.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

We’re sorry that you had this experience. Although this is some time ago now, we hope that our performance has improved considerably since what you have been experiencing. Should you still have concerns about the quality and speed of your treatment, then please contact our patient advice and liaison service (PALS) team on 01707 369045, who will be happy to follow your case up with the relevant clinical team in the hospital.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful